SCCA Solo Super Street Setup - Page 7 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #121 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-07-2014, 06:54 AM

10" hoses worked great for mounting to the underside of the chassis rails. I think my rears are 18". They're hose clamped to the forward leg of the lower control arms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mannix View Post
What's involved with replacing the hoses? Thinking air bubbles; you must have had to depressurize? I have zero experience with remote res shocks as far as disassembling them.
Correct, if you just swap hoses, you'll get air trapped in the oil chamber - bad situation. You're pretty much in for a rebuild if you break the oil chamber seal. Shocks are not very tough to rebuild. Just requires some patience and general understanding of how to properly bleed the shock. It doesn't hurt that my roommate use to work for AST/HVT. It was actually a good thing I took them apart, as we found bent and corroded blow-off shims in the compression canisters. Apparently Penske only serviced the bodies. Thankfully I have 8 spare 8100 canisters laying around from previous projects.

Corroded/bent on right, spare on left:

2006 Lotus Elise
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #122 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 08:39 PM

Registered for Nats. Found a co-driver as well. That makes 7 registered.

2006 Lotus Elise
post #123 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-16-2014, 08:46 AM

2 more will be soon.....Chris Delay and myself will get registered soon.

post #124 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-18-2014, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

Nice, the more the better.
post #125 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 06:06 PM

Anyone driving their Elise out to Nats ? And if yes, how far away are you ?

Thanks
John
post #126 of 154 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 08:28 PM

I might drive mine to the Midwest Divisional @ Lincoln in a few weeks - 500 miles each way.