The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, Im still a bit new and this is my first time with a problem. REALLY hoping someone out in Lotus world can give some insight. Heres the short....
I recently purchased a 2005 Elise with the Katana II supercharger and for about a month my life was awesome!! (Thanks Nick for the sale!!) Anyway I was having trouble with a dead battery and jumped the car using jumper cables. The problem is that it was dark and I was in such a rush to show someone the car that I (EEEEEK! GET READY FOR IT) switch the black/red cables on the car. The wires, as you could imagine got hot, and started to smoke and removed them quickly :facepalm Yes, there was a spark and yes, I put them on anyway. And yes, I literally kick myself daily.
So....I waited a few minutes and re-jumped it and all went well. I drove the car and everything seemed normal, until the temp gauage came on and the care began to warm up to operating temps. The PROBLEM IS that the car WILL NOT rev past 6k. The shift light comes on at about 6k and all that good stuff I just cant rev past 6k. (And as you all know there is A LOT of fun past 6k) I tried reconnecting the car battery and then popped a code (P0012 "Camshaft position timing over - Retarded Bank 1) I tried calling my local Toyota dealership and they literally told me to "Not bring that car here. We dont touch those." I jumped on the forums and learned about the fuses in the two black boxes up against the fire wall....changed them with no improvement. So I took it to a great local shop and this is what the mechanic checked, per his notes:
-Checked power at VVTI control solenoid. Has 12 volts when running. Computer not grounding to activate.
-Checked computer inputs:
MAF
Coolant Temp
02 sensors
all ok pressures and all operating normal