The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sounds like 185's in the front would not be a bad idea to combat the understeer.
Would they fit in the same rims (I'm not a tire expert)

Here's what the standard Elise (might) get:
175/55/16, Rear: 225/45/17

·
Registered
8 Posts
Matt,

As a current owner from the uk I can only advise that whatever you do with regard to tyres it's probably best not to change the sizes without also altering the suspension. Lotus are probably the best ride and handling engineers in the world, certainly they make cars that feel like no other on the road. Recently I put a set of 195 fronts on my car, here are my findings

"I've just been out and broken my proxes track day virginity, I was out on the same track two weeks ago but on an old set of potenzas so I thought it would be a good chance to get a back to back comparison.

The standard suspension is no match for the front end grip but I've kind of got used to that. On turn in the car lolls and drops it's shoulder to the side before turning into the corner as opposed to the potenzas where the front end is always very light and seems to dance it's way through the bends. Even on a relatively slow turn in you've used up a hell of a lot of suspension travel before you're really into the corner and I was lifting the inside front regularly.

Mid corner the grip characteristics of the tyre really came into play, they do not have a smooth progressive breakaway but tend to hold, hold, hold before letting go and sliding away, it's very non linear compared to the potenzas. I felt at times that I was driving on grease - all four wheels sliding in what must have looked quite impressive but was in fact a very unnerving experience.
Grip also started to fade as the tyres heated up, I've always found that the potenzas got better as the day went on but feel free to lend your opinions here