The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I am very new to this Lotus forum as I am a Porsche guy who is thinking about making the change. I absolutely love 40th anniversary editions and there happens to be one nearby that seems clean. I have had issues with Bosch's jetronic system before although I have a shop that rebuilds the units (I was left stranded on the side of the road for 3 hours in 100 degree weather, not fun). One part of me is saying to get the SE as it gets rid of the jetronic and has an intercooler/chargecooler along with more power, while my other side says to get the older 40th anniversary just because its beautiful. What do you guys think? Were there any 40th anniversary editions that were SE's? What else should I think about or look for?

·
Wingless Wonder
1988 Esprit Turbo
6,503 Posts
The Commemorative Editions were all 1988s. They were NOT SEs. AFAIK that is the only year to get the blue Alacantra interior, along with its roof mounted sound system.

There was a batch of North American Commemorative cars (with Citroen transmissions). The rest of the world got their own batch and they had Renault transmissions. Where are you looking?

If you have a nearby shop familiar with K Jetronic FI they could assure that it works fine. The Usual Lotus Parts Suspects have sourced almost all the unique Lotus KJet parts you would need. (Factory Lotus shop manuals specify the K Jet differences)

The GM MPFI cars have their own quirks. That said, if you want the extra power (and YEAH, your butt dyno can feel it) get an S4 or S4s.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Commemorative Editions were all 1988s. They were NOT SEs. AFAIK that is the only year to get the blue Alacantra interior, along with its roof mounted sound system.