The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up my 2005 Lotus Elise last night...drove it straight home....then went to my first track event at CA Spdwy with it today!

As a newbie, I was extremely nervous, but signed up for driving instruction - ended up with Oscar Jr. (him and Sr. work for Kraftwerks). Oscar was extremely nice and helped me out a lot.

So here are my random thoughts:

Session 1: WTF!!!!! I have no idea what I'm doing. Oscar is holding the wheel 1/2 the time.

Session 2: I start seeing the lines (not hitting them), but now driving overaggressively - too quick into the turns.

Sessions 3 - 5: Slowly learning the lines more and more....realize that it's all about running smooth lines!!!

Random things I forgot being a newbie:

1. tire pressure gauge - borrowed one
2. "Nothing should be in the car!!!!!" (that means in the trunk too!!!!)
Second session my car died!!! - my soft top in the trunk knocked the battery loose - novice move, but I learned)
3. Tow hitch should be screwed on - when my battery died I had to go to the trunk to get the hitch and screw it on - another novice move.
4. Sun tan lotion - I got fried with the top off
5. Drink tons of water
6. I kept hitting the horn on the Elise - hands at 10 and 2, not 9 and 3!

I'm officially addicted - next event is on Jun 28 at Willow Springs...

Here is a pic of my friend after one of the sessions:
(a little sick)

·
Registered
5,094 Posts
prep you car before you hit the track, make sure to torque your ligs nuts after they have cooled from the prior session.

MAKE SURE YOU CHECK YOUR REAR TOE END LINKS FOR PROPER TORQUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

look the car over between sessions.

have fun, its very addicting, and a slippery slope.

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
Hi Eddie!

Congrats! You hit the Lotus experience....BIG TIME!:D

Thanks for the memories of MY first track session!
You've described the feeling perfectly!