The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, my new Evora 400 had a few minor issues so I thought I'd bring it in to Lotus/Astin Martin of Orlando for service @1600 mile mark. In order of importance: 2" of free play on the brake pedal combined with a lack of engagement, illuminated knobs and switches not dimming when headlights or sidelights on, snowy picture in rear view camera, transmission sounding like it's mixing concrete at lower revs and a rectangle of carpet cut out and hanging at base of right rear seat. The initial response from the dealer was "that's normal". I took their word for it concerning the tranny as I have no experience with Toyotas but it is noisy. We comparing my issues with an Evora GT on the lot and I noted that it's camera, though a little fuzzy, still had a better picture than mine. The GT also had the same issue with the switch lighting; when not engaged and burning white they do not dim but when lit up red dimming occurs. Seems counterproductive that the glaring white lights will always stay bright at night. The manual states clearly that these lights are supposed to dim to a preset level; it mentions nothing about only the red lights doing so. The dealer used this comparison to again say I didn't have a problem there. Is it the same for all Evoras and it's the manual that is at fault? The loose carpet section was shoved back in place but came loose on the way home. No one could say what the purpose of the cut out is; there didn't seem to be any access plate behind it. The tech said it was for the trunk release but as you know that's just under the seat pad. I insisted they take action on the #1 problem so the brake lines were flushed. That brought immediate improvement with an inch less of free play though they still don't feel much like performance brakes. They said they would request a new camera from Lotus but not to expect much from them so will probably be stuck with it. Opini