The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm in the USA and considering purchasing a track 2 eleven. however as awesome as it would be to have a 100% track car the thoughts of the very liberal kit car laws for my state (NC) have been swirling through my brain. I guess my questions are as follows, since there was a street legal version made in the uk could a USA 2 eleven be converted to that same spec and registered as a kit car? the main questions I have are more mechanical, on the USA cars are all the provisions there i.e. mounting brackets and wiring harnesses underneath a headlight less clam? also it looks like they used the Exige lights is this correct? I used to own an Exige and did all my own maintenance on it and am a mechanic by trade. the conversion doesn't look that bad but where are you guys sourcing 2 eleven parts they seem very hard to find,obviously most are exige parts but the ones that aren't where do you get those?
thanks in advance,
Jeff

·
Registered
7,075 Posts
Might be easier to start with an Elise and convert towards a 211

You would have a VIN.

·
Registered
849 Posts
They really dont make ideal road cars, 2-Elevens are much better suited to the track.
Even in Europe, where 2-Elevens can be road legal in some countries, owners tend to do very limited mileage on the road.
Yes, been there, done it ;-)

Attachments

·
Registered
1,723 Posts
While you can probably get plates for the car, it will still be illegal on the federal level

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
random question does anyone know if the non street legal 2 elevens came with a for off road use only title? or no title?

·
Premium Member
4,668 Posts
random question does anyone know if the non street legal 2 elevens came with a for off road use only title? or no title?
They were delivered with a Manufacturers "Certificate of Origin For Vehicle" which stated ….