The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to baseline the suspension settings of my 2006 Elise with the base suspension. The first shop that I took it to when I had the Proxes R888Rs mounted said they couldn't do the Lotus. So I took it to another place today to just get the measurements checked against the baseline Lotus Factory specs.

The car has 60,000 miles and there were no unusual wear patterns on the AD07 tires that I took off (the rears were below the wear limits). I have noticed no unusual handling characteristics but I'm new to driving an Elise (3 months).

The shop told me my specifications are outside the limits to what Lotus recommends. I watched them check the alignment and I noticed they did not add any ballast in the drivers or passengers seat when doing the alignment.

I am a 95% road driver and only plan 1 or 2 track days a year but I mainly want the car set up for spirited canyon driving.

Here are my questions:
1) Are the numbers shown below the correct lotus specifications for alignment?
2) How important is adding ballast when checking the alignment?
3) With no handling issues or tire wear issues should I bring it into the lotus specifications listed?
4) Do you have any suggestions for modifying the base Lotus recommended setup for road driving?

Shop Provided Lotus Specs (see second picture):
Front Left Camber: minus 0.10 Tolerance minus 0 plus 0.20
Front Right Camber: minus 0.10 Tolerance minus 0 plus 0.20
Front Left Caster: plus 3.80 Tolerance minus 0.30 plus 0.30
Front Right Caster: plus 3.80 Tolerance minus 0.30 plus 0.30
Front Total Toe: 0.00 Tolerance minus 0.07 plus 0.07
Rear Left Camber: minus 1.80 Tolerance minus 0 plus 0.10
Rear Right Camber: minus 1.80 Tolerance minus 0 plus 0.10
Rear Total Toe: plus 0.32 Tolerance minus 0.02 plus 0.08

Actual Car as Measured (see first picture):
Front Left Camber: minus 0.4 which is minus 0.3 out of spec