The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
888 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This seems to be a common problem, but my '05 Elise now grinds when downshifting from 3rd to 2nd gear at very high RPMs (i.e., while on the high-cam). I can still get the shift done, and if I double-clutch and throttle blip twice (once when moving the shifter into gear and again while releasing the clutch), I can avoid the grind entirely. The problem only happens at higher engine speeds. I've got 21K miles on the car, of which something like 4000 miles were done on the track.

I'm betting the problem's attributable to a bad synchro, and I've bought a new C60 gearbox from Toyota. My question is what's caused the problem? I'd hate to go through the effort (and cost) of installing a new gearbox only to go through the same problem again!

Note that I've never damanged a gearbox before, I'm proficient with heel-toe, and I've got a lot of track experience in various cars. One suggestion I've heard is that the transaxle oil might be overheating, which suggests that more frequent changes might be called for (mine was changed yearly).

Any other ideas?

Thanks,
Twin

·
Registered
9,297 Posts
If you think it's fluid rlated, do you think Blackstone could confirm it by analyzing a sample?

The slop in the shifting mechanism combined with engine movement has always made me wonder.
:shrug:

·
Registered
9,786 Posts
If you think it's fluid rlated, do you think Blackstone could confirm it by analyzing a sample?

The slop in the shifting mechanism combined with engine movement has always made me wonder.
:shrug:
+1 That would be my suspicion too. Before I stiffened up the shifter mount, the shifting action was the sloppiest of any car I've owned. I feel there's still an issue shifting at high engine torques, as the engine/transmission rotates quite a bit when the clutch is disengaged. Stiffer engine mounts are next on my list of mods...

·
Registered
888 Posts