The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, im new here, getting a 2nd hand elise(right hand drive) and very interested in this.

im very very new to everything about lotus so i heard some horrible story about chassis frame damage so i manage to took this (passenger side)

is that the special glue lotus use to bond the frame?

·
Registered
2,613 Posts
Welcome and good luck on the purchase of a Lotus.

Other than the fact the wheels are dirty, the car looks fairly clean. As was stated, the orange is the glue that Lotus uses to bond all the aluminum material together. The only way to truly know if it was in an accident is to get a Car fax report on the car and to then look the car over from tip to stern and top to bottom. The easiest would be to have a certified lotus technician put it up on a rack and look it over for you. And if you ask nicely, he may let you stand next to him as he is doing it so you can ask questions...just an idea. :)

·
Registered
685 Posts
I suspect the OP is in the UK. This is not the best website for him - www.seloc.org might be better.

Welcome and good luck on the purchase of a Lotus.

Other than the fact the wheels are dirty, the car looks fairly clean. As was stated, the orange is the glue that Lotus uses to bond all the aluminum material together. The only way to truly know if it was in an accident is to get a Car fax report on the car and to then look the car over from tip to stern and top to bottom. The easiest would be to have a certified lotus technician put it up on a rack and look it over for you. And if you ask nicely, he may let you stand next to him as he is doing it so you can ask questions...just an idea. :)

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
no, i am from Singapore :)
this is my VERY first lotus, they did let me test drive it and the way it accelerate is awesome!
When i was thinking how awesome it was,