The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
insert clever title here
7,702 Posts
Sweet! How's the quality? Any chance you could send me an iges or step file of it? ;)

·
Registered
12,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The quality is insane (too good, really). It sucks up 300 megs of RAM off the bat. So freakin slow... takes 15 minutes to render on my 1.6 ghz. I need a faster computer!

What's iges or step file?

·
Registered
2,564 Posts
transio said:
What's iges or step file?
generic NURBS surface.

[shameless plug]
If you can't export iges, then you can export to Renderman RIB & buy my software to convert it back into usable geometry. ;) Granted, you have to be using Houdini to use my software.
[/shamless plug]

If the polygon count is high enough, it probably won't matter if it's nurbs or not unless you get silly with shaders.

·
insert clever title here
7,702 Posts
I'm not a nurbs expert, I don't know what it's based on. I believe you're correct though, it's not polygonal. The software I use for mechanical design can import most geometric surface file formats (iges and step being the most commonly used). So, is this file polygonal or smooth? I'm trying to decide if it's worth just buying myself. If it's polygonal, I'd have to recreate all the surfaces myself in CAD using those polygons as a reference (otherwise, the surface won't be smooth).

·
Registered
12,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #7