The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I purchased a Lotus Exige not too long ago and it came with no starshield. The front clam looks to be in immaculant condition and shows no sign of rock chips whatsoever. I guess the previous owner decided to take it off at the last minute to make the car look more appealing to sell. :shrug:

Well since I am new to the exotic scene and would love to keep that clean look on cars such as this one, I decided to investigate an alternative to the OEM starshield and found a product called the 3M Clear Bra Paint Defender Spray.

For some of you that don't know, its bascially a can you spray onto your car and it creates a thin layer of film that protects it from rock chips, bugs, scratches, and other abrasives that could potentially damage the front clam and value of your car. If you don't like it, you could peel it off with ease. It will NOT DAMAGE YOUR PAINT. You can buy a can at AutoZone or Amazon.

Paint Defender at AutoZone

3M Paint Defender Handgun - $6.99 (optional - would make your job easier at spraying)
3M Paint Defender Spray Can - $24.99 (GET IT - Comes with a small 3M synthetic wax pack)
3M Application Prep kit - $11.99 (optional - This box doesn't provide enough painters tape and plus its cheaper if you get plastic bags or old newspaper laying around the house)

Skeptical about putting anything on the newly bought Lotus, I decided to buy and experiment with it by applying some to my Civic to see how it turn out. After a few hours fiddling with it, I was quite pleased with the results and decided to go on with the Lotus.

A couple of things you would need for this project is:

-Garage with good ventilation
-Plastic bags
-Old newspaper
-Good scissors
-Blue painters tape
-3M Clear Bra Paint Defender
-3M Paint Defender Handgun (optional)
-Tweezers (optional)
-Car wax (highly recommend - included in box)