The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Car Adicted
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am just beginning to check into a "No Start" problem with my 98 V8. I keep the battery on a tender and it has always been slow to turn over Hot or Cold, but then fires right up. In the last year I have replaced plugs, fuel and air filters, changed oil and filter, just recently had my radiator re cored to a 3 row radiator and have also replaced coils and wires and also injectors......with everyone's help here and many beers. Last time out when I stopped for gas it would start. Just a click, nio turn over. I gave two guys $10 bucks to push me and it started immediately. I tried the other day to start it and when I turn on the key all is normal with fuel pumps etc. but when you turn key to start it just a click and that is it. I took the battery out and charged it overnight and tested it with a load tester and all was fine. I figured it was a connection / grounding issue. I replaced the positive and negative cable ends where they attach to the battery and made sure the battery posts were clean etc. All battery connections are now clean and tight. No difference in what happens, once I try to start it just a click. I haven't looked at the grounding cables on engine etc yet. I haven't looked at the starter either. I know many many people smarter than I on here, so thought I would post for some help. I do have the digital WSM for the car which I need to look at. Also, there was a round plastic disk back behind the battery with a wire going to it, The disk is flat and about 4 inches in diameter??? Thanks in Advance for any input. Mark Seifert

·
Registered
791 Posts
This might be an opportunity to upgrade to a light weight high torque starter from PNM :)
JAE may have them too.

I would (carefully) run 12v directly to starter and see if it spins.

Other will chime in with V8 specific experience. Other related possibilities I have read about: