The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I joined the LT forum back in December as I needed advice on who to get my Elise serviced with (I hasten to add it is now my daily starting point). LARRY was one of the first to jump in and say Qais at Southbay Autohaus (in fact he has this written in his signature :)).

So I finally got round to dropping off my Elise for her 15K service yesterday and felt compelled to write this morning.

I am not a mechanic, I like tinkering but limit it to changing an air filter or wiper blade :). However, over the course of a few months driving your car (I got my Elise in Sept 08) you begin to feel things, notice new sounds when they occur, identify the brake pedal 'feels soft' etc etc. My point is I came to Ralph (co-owner of Southbay Autohaus) with a list of things I wanted him to check whilst servicing.

From the get go the entire team was friendly, helpful and gave the firm impression they knew what they were talking about (and clearly the DO!). Ralph took my car at 09:00 yesterday morning, the service was complete mid afternoon around 16:00. Qais looked at her around 17:30, took her for a road test (as had the mechanic who had serviced her earlier in the day) and then called me to come and collect her.

He spent almost 30 min with me when I arrived, went through my entire list, made recommendations, helped explain in simple layman's terms what was what and basically put my mind at ease.

And then the car...frankly WOW! She feels completely different, totally smooth through the revs, no longer hunting...just WOW! And I know, this is how you expect to get your car back from a service, but this whole experience from start to finish has been great and I wanted to give credit where credit is most definitely due!