The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I admitingly have never tracked a car except the drag strip with my old k04 s4. I bought the elise because i'd like to learn to track it but also because it's been a dream car many years of my life and it's just incredibly fun to drive regardless of being a pro or not. So as I read this forum i see things that I don't quite understand or get - terms people use, situations i have never experienced - etc - so here's a thread where people don't have to feel like an idiot for asking and all start!

What's snap over-steering?

also someone mentioned hitting a turn to hard letting off the gas and having the engine spin cause the car to go ass around? why is that?

·
Registered
24 Posts
I am not experienced...I just read a lot. So if I am wrong about this please let me know. My dad owns a 2001 s2000. These are known for snap oversteer. Basically you are driving at the limit of the cars handling. You are on the edge and you just push it a hair too far. With no warning whatsoever you end up facing the opposite direction in a cloud of dust as your car flips around. In the elise from what I've read (no experience) there is more of a warning before your car snaps around and oversteers.

In rear wheel drive cars...especially mid engined, as the weight is centered more towards the back if you enter corners at a high velocity the car is balanced. When you hit the break mid corner, let off the gas, disengage the clutch mid corner the weight of the car transfers towards the front lightening the rear of the car. The rear wheels are now spinning with no load on them, the back end slides around and you end up facing the opposite direction. I believe people use letting off the gas to initiate drifting, you let off the gas then put it back on, but if I believe if you do this at too high of a speed you end up facing the opposite direction in a cloud of smoke.