The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Tire abuser
773 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to Lotus cars and have not tracked mine... yet.

We were watching a recorded episode of Top Gear last night and saw something interesting. They were comparing a Lexus ISF 430 to a BMW M3. They ran the cars on their test track with the test driver (the Stig) and posted the results on the board. As the result went up for the M3 they noted that it was about the same as the Lotus Exige. I understand that all tracks are different and some favor power over handling, etc.. but still I was surprised the M3 would hang with an Exige on what looks like (to my untrained eye) a fairly tight track.

It just made me curious... Does that seem about right, or can we blame The Stig?

·
He's on fire!
3,255 Posts
Why does it matter? The time says it all... it IS right, for that particular track.

·
Registered
1,990 Posts
I am very new to Lotus cars and have not tracked mine... yet.

We were watching a recorded episode of Top Gear last night and saw something interesting. They were comparing a Lexus ISF 430 to a BMW M3. They ran the cars on their test track with the test driver (the Stig) and posted the results on the board. As the result went up for the M3 they noted that it was about the same as the Lotus Exige. I understand that all tracks are different and some favor power over handling, etc.. but still I was surprised the M3 would hang with an Exige on what looks like (to my untrained eye) a fairly tight track.

It just made me curious... Does that seem about right, or can we blame The Stig?
i think you may be underestimating the m3 a little bit

those cars offer a ton of ability when it comes to performace & practicality... now are they consistantly faster than an elise/exige? i think alot of that depends on the driver/track but its not shocking that they are hanging with a lotus on a track

were not comparing it to 98 mustang GT here

·
Premium Member
177 Posts