The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I pulled this discussion from the original thread, with respect to the victim and family. Most Lotus drivers are very careful and know the consequences of an even small driving mistake.

After one of our Forum members was involved in a fatal accident, many of us would like to understand the circumstances, or causes of the crash. We can learn from mistakes, or try to avoid this in this case.

I'm not a crash expert, but I think the Escalade turned left directly in front of the Lotus, causing the crash. In this case, speed is not a factor. If the Lotus was traveling at a safe speed (which I would assume), the accident would still be the same.

The comments with this article I've enclosed below here makes me feel extremely upset with the human race. As mentioned before, these comments are absolutely AWFUL! Speed kills? Come on. I'm disgusted with "fellow" humans. Read and see what I mean.

Fort Salonga man killed in sports car crash ID 'd - Topix

--Hal

·
Registered
9,786 Posts
My sister lives very close to the accident site... she sent me the link to that board a few days after the accident. For the most part, it's just a bunch of people spouting off about things they know nothing about... I didn't think at the time it was worthy of mention here, especially so soon after the accident.

I suppose that since some time has passed, it's instructive to read the comments and see how many people view Lotus owners and sports car enthusiasts in general. I don't know whether any conclusive investigation has been published, but it's pretty clear that many people will consider you guilty of something for just owning a sports car.

Something to keep in mind...

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it's pretty clear that many people will consider you guilty of something for just owning a sports car.