The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to Lotus and other than reading the chats for the last few weeks I know nothing. This community sounds very nice to be a part of.
I’ve always been enamored by the Esprit. I’ve found a 1997 I like. At 30k miles the car looks perfect and it’s easy to tell the previous owners cared for it. The current owner is a stand-up guy.

Everything checks out except for an oil analysis. With 1500 miles in the oil it’s showing moderate signs of glycol (.069%) which is 690ppm if my math is correct. How bad is this? Anybody here have their oil sampled lately? Liner or HG or porous block related? I enjoy working on cars and feel that I’m capable of pulling this engine and re-sealing liners and head gaskets if need be.

A fairly obtuse question but what are parts costs involved in doing this and a timing belt change if I were to do it myself?

I’m waiting on a warranty history report from Lotus who have mentioned they’ll get this to me by the end of the week.

Any thoughts or opinions are greatly appreciated.

TIA

·
Registered
3,238 Posts