The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After spending yesterday at Texas World Speedway in my Subaru STi I started to worry about the strength of this car overall. I drive quite agressivley on the track and can say that I am a good driver but no expert. The track has little room for off's and has lots of curbs on the tight portions of the track. Every once in a while I will nip a curb (for any number of reasons), but I dont want to think that this car (the elise) will be adversly hurt from a small curb, or an off at the track. It just seems so fragile to me, does anyone else agree? or am I just going stur crazy?

ADamP

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Judging from the huge number of people who do track days in elise in the UK (SELOC events) The elise must not be that terribly fragile. But I don't know how it'll stand up to "nipping curbs", tapping walls etc.

also, repair costs would be significantly higher than an Sti.

Chris

·
Registered
7,610 Posts
I'm more concerned about the raised Ford Expedition that rear ends & rolls over me. :(

·
Registered
825 Posts
Adam P said:
After spending yesterday at Texas World Speedway...
Glad to hear that you made it out to TWS. It is a great track with lots of elevation/camber changes and high speed corners. My Elise will spend a lot of time at the track. Three reasons:

1) I've done dozens of track days, including thousands of participants, and have only seen 7 cars get hurt. Most of the damage could be buffed out or painted over.
2) At the track there are no drunk drivers, cell phones or intersections.
3) I'll never approach the Elise's capabilities on the street. The Elise's track abilities are why I am getting it rather than a Ferrari 328.

We're in the same delivery at Gonzaba. Assuming it arrives in time, my Elise will hit the track June 12th (www.thedriversedge.net). If you're not sure whether to bring your Elise, come ride in mine. I bet it doesn't suck...

·
Banned