The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hanging around here for a couple of months and learning everything I can about the Elise and Exige S. I've had a few test drives and have decided that one of these is the car for me. I prefer the looks of the Exige and REALLY want one. But the only 'sports' car I've ever owned is a Mazda Miata (a pretty base model with nothing much but a sports suspension, which I drove for 6 happy years) and have never taken an HPDE course, so I'm wondering if an Exige S is simply overkill for me. I don't know if I'll ever spend much time tracking the car, but I would like to take some HPDE courses and really learn how to drive the car properly. Without the requisite driving skill, am I worthy of owning an Exige S? Are most of the Exige owners around these parts highly skilled HP drivers or are many of you just car enthusiasts like me who love the Exige and want to own one and enjoy becoming a more skilled driver with one?

·
Registered
4,743 Posts
me=big time car enthusiast, so i wanted to own one and get better as a driver with it (exige S)

get what you can afford and get good at it...there are peeps here with elises who drive faster on track than some (or most) exige s owners LOL

if the S "floats your boat" and it wont hurt the pocket that bad then i'd say go for it

my .02

·
Forum Founder
29,081 Posts
MANY owners never track the car. Buy it for whatever reason you like. There is no test for suitability, except perhaps an appreciation for what it is.

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
In the world of sports cars, the Elise/Exige are very much entry level, not much different that your Miata. Like Randy said, many if not most owners don't even track on a regular basis, I don't. Buy what looks good to you and have fun with it.

·
Banned
874 Posts
as long as you dont put tv's in ur headrestsrotfl

·
Registered
11,221 Posts