The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Word of warning if you don't have time and a full coffee skip to the last paragraph.

I'm not so well known among the Lotus circles so you can take me for a grumpy old man who despite that does know a thing or two. I've worked as an engine tuner for a decade now, built a number of engines and parts too. Also spent the last 5 years subcontracting out working for OEMs and certain aftermarket companies on their ECUs. My background is in computer engineering and I specifically work with embedded firmware. Having worked on designs, testing and tuning for OEMs I know EFI, wiring and tuning very well.

I was subcontracted by a company in my region as they had purchased an upgrade kit from a company called ForceFed. This was a kit that consisted of an EFI ECU, a custom harness, a smaller supercharger pulley and 550cc injectors. The kit was supposed to be shipped with a decent base map and I was contracted to fine tune it.

Stock the car put down a respectable 219whp on 94 octane fuel.

I was called in a number of times during the install because the instructions with the kit were somewhere between cryptic and useless. There was not a lot of explaining besides something like cut the yellow wire and attach it here. There were a lot of interesting oversights with the wiring, for example, switched power was supposed to be wired up to the fuel pump but that always stays energized for 4 seconds after KO on this car. The instructions also placed the ECU in an impossible place. It doesn't exist on this car!