The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,563 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy all.

I recently acquired this '74 Elite (serial number 102B) and will start "restoration" (really just a freshening up) this summer.

I lucked out in that the previous owner *just* rebuilt the engine and carbs, and a few other sundries. It needs transmission work, seats redone, and a general once-over, but isn't too far off the mark as it sits.

Mine runs the S2 bumpers (with Rover SD1 tail lights) and Dellorto carbs (I thought the US cars came with Strombergs?)

For what it's worth, I also race a '74 Elite running a Chevy 350 through a Muncie 4-speed to a Jag XJS rear end (complete IRS unit) with another member of the forum. We've been running that car for 8 years now, but this is my first time working on a road-worthy, original Elite.

Lotus Elite 1312 by Brian Knudson, on Flickr

Lotus Elite 1330 by Brian Knudson, on Flickr

Lotus Elite 1344 by Brian Knudson, on Flickr

Lotus Elite 1322 by Brian Knudson, on Flickr

·
Registered
2,563 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
By the way - being that I'm new to this whole idea of "make it nice" (street car) as opposed to "make it fast" (race car), I'll happily accept any recommendations on resources for parts and/or Elite-specific hints/tips.

I'm familiar with Lotusbits, SJ Sports Cars, and RD Enterprises, but that's about it at this point.

:shift:

·
Wingless Wonder
1988 Esprit Turbo
5,653 Posts
You might want to ping @Esprit2 with any questions. I'm sure he could answer your Carb query.

That car looks to be in fairly nice shape already! Got any interior shots?

·
Registered
2,563 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You might want to ping @Esprit2 with any questions. I'm sure he could answer your Carb query.

That car looks to be in fairly nice shape already! Got any interior shots?