The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Lotus Elise
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my 05 Elise in December, and it came with a new set of Advan Fleva V701 tires, 195/45/ZR16 front and 225/45/ZR17 rears. The previous owner used it for street only, and was looking for a quiet set of tires. When I bought the car, I put a set of Continental DWS06 all-season tires on to drive it back from FL to IN in December. I'm getting ready to mount the Advan Flevas on a spare set of stock wheels, and wanted to see if anyone has used them and has thoughts on how they behave on street or track? I'll be mostly street, but a few track days / year (I'm also brand new to HPDEs). My car is stock, with stock (non LSS) wheels and suspension (upgraded Inokinetic DSBrace toe link). I've thought a bit about upgrading to AO52s or R888Rs for track days, though the Continental DWS 06s or Advan Flevas will probably serve me well enough until I get more experience. I might try both the DWS 06's and Advan Fleva's on some track or autocross days before upgrading.
Thanks!

·
The Man
121 Posts
I looked at these tires as well and the comments/tests floating around the internet weren't complimentary on their performance vs similar tires. However, they were said to be quiet.

·
Registered
2005 Lotus Elise
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@MCD007 , I also looked and saw that the recommended rim width is 6”-7.5” for the 195/45/R16 Advan Flevas, and thus isn't exactly compatible with the base 5.5”x16” front wheels. Also the diameter on the 195/45/R16 is 2.6% smaller. I don’t know if that is enough of a difference to mess with the ABS computer? If anyone with more knowledge on ABS could chime in, I would be interested. Yokohama’s website lists a 195/50/R16, but Tire Rack doesn’t carry it.