The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered my car without the clearbra, and am thinking about black racing stripes over STi. I assume that the way to go is paint (??) and need someone in the northeast that can do the job for me. Then I'll do a clearbra over everything.

Anyone done stripes yet? Any advice? I have no experience with this. Steve

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
you should do vinyl stripes. You won't be able to tell the difference from paint and they will be cheaper and removable.

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I guess one would have to put vinyl stipes on top of the clearbra?

·
Registered
3,577 Posts
Steve said:
Thanks, I guess one would have to put vinyl stipes on top of the clearbra?
I would think you'd want to put the clearbra over the stripes. The stripes will be thinner than the bra.
Vinyl will be cheaper, but paint does look a bit nicer if you don't have any plans to ever remove them. We painted our racecar all one color and had a really good vinyl guy do all of our graphics (roundels, numbers, stripes, logos, etc). It looked really nice but if you got close you could certainly tell it wasn't paint. The advantage was that damage could be repaired more easily. We just had to have damage repaired and shot with one color. Then add vinyl as necessary.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Saw an LRG Elise in Houston with green stripes. These were vinyl and looked sharp. The owner was planing to have a clear bra installed over the stripes.

Car looked very sharp.

·
Registered
677 Posts
Johnny B said:
Saw an LRG Elise in Houston with green stripes. These were vinyl and looked sharp. The owner was planing to have a clear bra installed over the stripes.

Car looked very sharp.