The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Vroom vroom
507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the previous owners did quite a bit of stuff, from what I can tell the front speakers were replaced with 5.25" speakers and the rears were tossed along with the panel. I found two pairs of wire that should be for those rear speakers.

However, I bought a component speaker system to replace them and I seemingly can't get anything to make a noise. I heard a slight murmur when I put one of the pairs of wires right on the woofer, but it was very weak (maybe I was imagining things...). I checked the fade setting on the stereo and everything seems to still be connected in the back of the head unit. Was I wrong to get component instead of coaxial? Why else would I not get any power to the speakers?

·
Addict
2007 Lotus Exige S
1,510 Posts
I’m far from an audio expert but most of my stereo installs seem to work. Does the unit power up? Are all the wires connected to the head unit? If you just connected the previous wiring harness, double check that the prior owner didn’t alter those wires. Do your new component speakers connect directly to the head unit or is there something in-between? Make sure volume is up, make sure fad is adjusted, same with treble and bass, the components might be set to a small audio range and this needs adjusted.

·
Vroom vroom
507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I’m far from an audio expert but most of my stereo installs seem to work. Does the unit power up? Are all the wires connected to the head unit? If you just connected the previous wiring harness, double check that the prior owner didn’t alter those wires. Do your new component speakers connect directly to the head unit or is there something in-between? Make sure volume is up, make sure fad is adjusted, same with treble and bass, the components might be set to a small audio range and this needs adjusted.
The component speakers go through a crossover that looks like this: