The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I graduated with a BS in Dec of 06 and after working various jobs discovered that I like research the best. Unfortunately when I was doing research, I was a temporary employee and the company decided to drop the project I was working on. So obviously, I was dropped as well.

So long story short, I figure the easiest way for me to do what I want is going back to school. However, I have a horrible undergrad GPA since I never planned on furthering my education and had a "C's earn degrees attitude."

I took the GRE already and did pretty well on them. I want to get at least a masters in microbio and both California State Colleges that have programs only require the biology Gre subject test if you were a non bio major. I was a microbio major so technically I don't need to take it.

Now I'm wondering if I should take the bio subject test anyways to show the colleges that I know biology despite my low gpa. Would colleges look upon this favorably? Or would they see that I was a bio major and figure that I should do well on it regardless of what my gpa was? There is also the flip side that if I do poorly on the biology subject test then that would pretty much end my chances of getting in as I am a long shot to begin with.

Thanks guys

Oh and before you guys are telling me that his question is better directed to an adviser, I've already asked my grad school adviser but shes takes a while to respond to me, and I want as many opinions as possible.

·
Registered
657 Posts
GPA will play a factor in the school decision making. It realy depends on the schools you are going to apply to. Some obviously will require a minimum GPA and others might not. The application process will also require you to write them an admission letter to sell yourself.

Grad school are also picky in terms of the students they accept...not the same process as Undergrad.