The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a novice stock investor by anybody's yardstick But I'm wondering if any brokers on this site can give an opinion on this. I'm aware it's just rumor & speculation riight now but it might make some sense for an Apple aquisition even though Apple historically likes to hang onto thier cash. Is it worh picking up some Yahoo stock (sitting at around $15.40 right now)?

Or is this just industry smoke?

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The rumor and speculation came out of Palm Beach a few months ago and has resurfaced, no doubt with the release of the new i-Pad. With Steve Jobs vowing before he passed to go "Thermonuclear" on Android, apple may seek to aquire someone like Yahoo as part of the strategy. Yahoo does own hundreds of valuable, defensable technology patents covering mobile apps and social networking. Yahoo also has good, concise and easy to digest financial reports and information. Apple and Yahoo would be a complementary merger of technologies. Apple-hardware and Yahoo - software. An Apple managment might see it making sense in spite of the $30 billion it would probably cost.

There are a few others that I can see being interested in Yahoo as well. I'm thinking of grabbing some Yahoo right now. It's been a steady if not spectacular performer over the las while but it would take a major player like Apple becomming interested to make it go nuts. With the rumors still floating around the mabey its worth the buy ....??????

I'm interested to know what any knowledgeable people in this forum might think.

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
anyone that will have any real info will not comment here (or at least they should not be).

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #5