The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
ky13
556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To my surprise, there are very few threads in this subforum regarding suspension setups; what is the 'best' (possibly subjective) entry level coilover? My car will be ~85% street driven/15% track. TIA

-Kyle

·
Absolute power does what?
3,201 Posts
My car is almost exclusively track, I'm an instructor, run slicks and am rather fast for my run groups (run with 911 Cup cars, etc.). I'm on the stock '06 Exige suspension.

My point - for what you're doing mod other parts of the car first. The stock suspension setup is great.

·
Registered
736 Posts
My car is almost exclusively track, I'm an instructor, run slicks and am rather fast for my run groups (run with 911 Cup cars, etc.). I'm on the stock '06 Exige suspension.

My point - for what you're doing mod other parts of the car first. The stock suspension setup is great.
You don't find that you're bottoming out your stock suspension? In long sweepers, my Elise would bottom out completely on the LSS suspension on Toyo R888's. I'm running Nitron singles now with the "soft" springs from S111, which are almost double the spring rate from LSS, and it's a night and day difference in terms of how the car handles at the very limit.

I do agree with you that it takes a lot of practice to reach this point, though, and I only upgraded suspension because I had to install a new one anyway due to damage.

·
3,201 Posts
You don't find that you're bottoming out your stock suspension? In long sweepers, my Elise would bottom out completely on the LSS suspension on Toyo R888's. I'm running Nitron singles now with the "soft" springs from S111, which are almost double the spring rate from LSS, and it's a night and day difference in terms of how the car handles at the very limit.

I do agree with you that it takes a lot of practice to reach this point, though, and I only upgraded suspension because I had to install a new one anyway due to damage.