The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Lotus and am contemplating buying my first one, probably an Elise, although I would also consider an Exige.

What model years are the best in terms of performance for the money and freedom from problems? What options are most important to have?

I plan to track it 2-3 times a year and just enjoy it around town on nice days the rest of the time.

I won't probably have the car long term so resale value is also important.
Are these cars going up, down or stable currently in terms of their value?

My budget is pretty open for the right car.

·
Premium Member
2,638 Posts
Be kind, remember; all newbies are born trolls.....they usually grow out of it.
Oh, and by the way, in my opinion 2005. Lightest, throttle cable, more tuning tools than later years.
Downside: not the best seats or tail-lights, shifter recall, oil cooler recall (hard to get loans, the car is over 7 years old).

·
Super Moderator
5,461 Posts
The basics are the same but as there are a myriad of variants available, each with their pros and cons, and as I am not familiar with your detail preferences the best advice I can offer is to buy the one that makes your heart race :) Find that car in the best condition for the money and go for it!!
:D

·
Registered
1,008 Posts

·
Registered
686 Posts
Just buy an unmolested car and be done with it.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I have a 2005 that I autocrossed for 2 years and did a track day with, planning on doing a couple a season now. I put about 7500 miles on per summer, so it sounds like you will be using yours the way I use mine. Literally the only modification I have made is an exhaust w/ ecu upgrade which was purely for sound, no performance. They are good for the track right out of the box, it's just hard on tires and brakes obviously. But the point is, they are awesome.