The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running the E153 in my Rev400 Elise for a couple of years in my daily driven car that visits the track a few times a year.
It has terrible ratios but is very strong. I had a Jubu 3&4 in my 6 speed but it was just too noisy for me.
Second gear runs out at 120 kph and third over 180 kph. Very unsuitable for the track.
A few weeks ago I bought the E53 gearbox from a V6 '92 Camry. I pulled out 3rd and 4th gears and put them in the E153. A weekends work in my garage. I have never done a gearbox before but borrowed a hydraulic press and a few more tools.
All back in and the ratios are much better third runs out at 165 kph. Fifth is still a high gear for cruising. About the same as the six speed. It comes standard with a torsen LSD and their are plenty of strong clutches available (MR2).
This also has its own oil pump and cooler as standard.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,636 Posts
I have the E153 and had a KAZ close ratio set put in with a longer FD. I'll be installing it this winter. Do you have any clutch suggestions?

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the E153 and had a KAZ close ratio set put in with a longer FD. I'll be installing it this winter. Do you have any clutch suggestions?

I odered and installed this from MWR
1 x EXEDY ST1 Perf Clutch Kit - Toyota 3SGTE, 2GR, E153 $319.00

This only lasted a week as it was crazy heavy and I could hardly depress the pedal.
I now have this, it is still a bit heavy but perfectly streetable and no hint of slippage at nearly 400 hp.

1 x EXEDY ST0 Stock Replacement Clutch Kit - Toyota 3SGTE, 2GR, E153 $159.00

·
Registered
1,636 Posts
I am shooting for 400whp. Do you know what the torque rating is for the stock E153 clutch?

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am shooting for 400whp. Do you know what the torque rating is for the stock E153 clutch?