The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So last fall, I put Raybestos St-43 pads on the car for the track. Kept them on for hibernation and Spring driving. I heard rubbing coming from somewhere and I was getting a ton of brake dust on the wheels. Took the wheel off and the pads were right up against the rotor and were causing an annoying rubbing sound. My question is, "is this normal with a track pad or did I so something wrong." The rubbing was annoying so I decided to put the OEM pads back on the front. Haven't gotten to the back pads yet but I can't imagine that having different pads on the front versus the back would be much of an issue with street driving, right?

Thanks in advance,
LMM
:confused:

·
Registered
5,094 Posts
just a guess, I am not a mechanic nor do i claim much expertise.

perhaps the thickness of the new pads vs the used stock pads is displacing fluid back to the master cyliner making the pedal "depresed" if that makes sense.
check the level of fluid in the reservior(if its high after putting in the newer pads you would need to remove a bit to the max fill line and they might work w/o rubbing.
just a wild guess............
my mechanical advice is free, and its worth what you are paying for it.

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Does your wheel spin freely when the brakes are not applied? Are they hanging up?? I just witnessed a master cylinder failure on an 05 elise where the master cylinder was not returning to the open position and dragging the pads and during a flush it actually stuck in a depressed position until we manually pulled the piston back to the open position.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Fishguy,