The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know of a well sorted brake upgrade that will work with 15" front, and 16" rear wheel setups? With my current setup I am still experiencing brake fade despite ss lines and Pagid blues w/motul fluid. The car is much faster than before though with the turbo kit. I still have the LSS wheels 16/17 that came with the car, but love the handling of the smaller wheels and the lower tire prices. This car is tracked between 6-10 days per year. Hopefully more as time goes on. Any advice is welcomed. :wave:

·
Registered
2,894 Posts
Brent can chime in here, he's had great results from ducting

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Any info helping with ducting would be appreciated. Is it not possible to fit a more powerful system with these wheels? Is ducting enough?:shrug:

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
i have no experience, but in principle ducting would seem to me the lighter, cheaper, and more elegant solution regardless... very "lotus" if you ask me. And the faster you're going, the more it will help, plus, it will still help even if you do ultimately end up with a beefier brake solution.

If they do help a lot, it would be a good case where the concept doesn't get much play as an idea or solution becuase marketing and business folks find it hard to charge premium for it... and where people often spend time looking to put a bandaid on the problem instead of a solution for the problem. The problem isnt' that the brakes don't work... the problem is too much heat building up... so why not fix the heat build up problem by reducing the heat instead of just throwing bigger parts at it.

Can you tell i really like the brake ducting idea?... very cool.

·
Registered
917 Posts
I am running 15/16 on track.