The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So it looks like I bent a valve during the last track day at Laguna Seca, bummer...
Car is a track only NA Elise 2005, racing slicks & roll cage, stock engine & transmission that have seen many track days, and also raced 1 season of Lotus Cup USA under previous owner.
I’m still waiting the full diagnostics from the shop but I’d like to learn a bit more about built engines.
Full disclaimer, my mechanical knowledge is pretty limited, and the first question would be what exactly defines a “built” engine?
Does that mean keeping the original bloc and replacing most/all moving components for stronger alternatives? Or does that mean swapping the entire engine?

Then there seem to be 2 main options in the US (BOE vs MWR), is one “better” than the other?

I plan to keep the car track only, no competition, mostly HPDE. I’m fairly new to that world, 15-20 days on track (6 with the Lotus) and have a ton to learn. I also plan to remain on slicks and maybe to run race gas because why not?
I eventually plan to install a REV 400 kit, hence the interest in building a bulletproof engine. I’m not ready to go the K swap route, I prefer the idea of a stronger 2ZZ.

Suggestions?

·
Administrator
4,520 Posts
Since the plan is to go REV400 and you're not building the engine yourself the best option is to drop it off with BOE and pick up finished product ready to rock.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts