The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My latest question about the Elise: Is a burning clutch smell relatively common?

I have 31 years experience driving manual transmissions. I have never owned a car with an automatic transmission. I have replaced 2 clutches in 500,000 miles of driving. I think I'm pretty good at driving a manual. That said, I have driven two Lotus Elises and have found that it is very very easy to create a burning clutch smell during driving conditions that require slight feathering of the clutch, mostly during uphill starts. I live in a very hilly section of Ann Arbor, and my driveway is very steep. I find that I smell the clutch burning on a sporadic but consistent basis. It's very alarming, yet nothing I can do seems to mitigate this condition. I dont think it's my particular car as I have observed this on the first Elise that I drove. I recognize that the clutch engages at the far end of the throw and drive appropriately for this condition.

I appreciate your feedback on my concern.

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Sigh.....i meant to search the forum before I wrote my post. Only now did I remember it so I've done it backwards. It appears what I am experiencing is normal. I'd still like to hear comments on this for those inclined. By the way, my clutches feels great under power...no slipping at all.

·
Registered
1,471 Posts
I haven't experienced this burning smell in my 10+ yrs of ownership unless I was slipping the clutch. I live in the foothills of the Cascade Mountains and drive/stop on hilly roads constantly and don't experience this. In downtown Seattle, which is known for scaring manual drivers with steep hills and stop lights in city traffic....I haven't had it happen.