The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3,664 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to buy my first bike within the next couple weeks... currently it looks like I'm going to be picking up a 2003 F4i from a friend of a friend who bought it and can no longer afford the payments because of school. He has paid quite a bit of it off already and only wants me to take over payments, and he'll also throw in his matching helmet which just happens to be my size :)

The bike has about 500 miles on it and looks like it never left the showroom floor.

I've ridden quite a few of my friend's bikes before so I'm not a total newbie, but have any of you had any experience with the F4i? Would you consider it to be a good choice for a "beginner"?

·
Supporting Vendor
4,107 Posts
Mike,

Honda makes great bikes. No sportbike is really a good beginner bike. But the F4i is a pretty 'friendly' bike. A better choice for a beginner is the Suzuki SV650. The problem with sportbikes is their fairings. They are expensive to replace. As a beginner, you will likely drop or go down on the bike and it will result in a bunch of $ to fix. There two types of riders: those that have gone down and those that will. Whatever you choose, go take a MSF course.

BTW: I learned how to ride in the alleys of Chicago way back in the eighties.

Be warned that motorcycles are addictive. :D

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
Uhh..

You're kidding, right? The F4i is probably on someone's "Top 5 Worst Bikes For Beginners" list. But you probably knew that from looking at the specs.

Me, I don't believe in the whole Beginner Bike thing. Whether the bike is right/safe/appropriate for you depends 100% on you, not the bike.

You can kill yourself on any "beginner bike", and no law says you must crash a sportbike, so the responsibility is all yours.