The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone! I'm new to this forum and am hoping to get as much feedback, advice, etc. as I can before buying my first Esprit. Briefly, I've loved Esprits since I was a teen in the 80s and am finally at a point where I'm ready to buy one. I'm by no means an expert and am still reading and learning about their nuances and idiosynchracies. I have no plans to work on the car myself and I am fortunate enough to live near a big city (Atlanta, Georgia) that has a Lotus dealer that can service the car. Without trying to sound vain, money isn't really an issue. I will pay for the one that I want and have the means to maintain it. That being said, I'm asking what I need to know that I don't know I need to know! My favorite model is the V8 SE. I like it's styling and appearance the best. It's the one I really want. I've read forums on things to look for and red flags to pay attention to when buying an Esprit. I may have left things a little vague in my posting here, but I'm not sure what questions to ask. What can you tell me in your experience that might be helpful as I begin this process? ANY tips, info, advice, etc. would be much appreciated!

·
Banned
938 Posts
Fantastic.
You have distinct taste rather than the norm.
Like to know what other cars youve owned.
Mike

·
Super Moderator
4,040 Posts
[snip]Briefly, I've loved Esprits since I was a teen in the 80s and am finally at a point where I'm ready to buy one. [snip] I have no plans to work on the car myself and I am fortunate enough to live near a big city (Atlanta, Georgia) that has a Lotus dealer that can service the car. [snip]... and have the means to maintain it. [snip]
Change your '80s' to '70s', 'Atlanta' to 'San Jose' and you have my story too.

Check out my 'garage' under my avatar on the left. I have owned my Esprit since 2011/30K miles on my clock (60K on the car).