The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,894 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Stuck a GoPro on the mouth of my helmet to get an exact view of where my head is at (gonna try this next time I'm at the track in the Lotus). Couple friends and I rented the world formulas at Calspeed...they aren't as quick as 125cc TAG's, more like 400c lazy lawnmower engines, but it forced you to get a clean line without too much fuss otherwise you'd lose tons of momentum.

Quick video of a couple laps and me chasing a friend, tires got greasy in the last session that's in the video. Despite my best efforts I couldn't get below 1:00:42, the times in the this spec class during races are 00:59:XX - that last second was elusive I couldn't get it (!) I'm not good at this karting business, I keep treating it like a car with very early setup and braking into corners when I can go way hotter and rotate. More to learn :) You can see some different lines Johann and I were taking, I didn't know how to pass the open wheel thing was a little freaky so I kept backing off, finally caught up in the hairpin and he followed rest of session, fun times! They have 12 of these karts for rent, we can setup a race... (Jacob)

<object width="640" height="505"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/_57VujSOfMg&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/_57VujSOfMg&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed></object>

·
Registered
750 Posts
Karting is one of those things that a lot of car / driving enthusiast sometimes overlook or in some cases skip and get into sportscars. It's too bad b/c it is truly driving in it's purist form.