The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I need a quick sanity check. I took a longer trip recently had an issue with the clutch on the way back. I noticed that about 4 hours in that my clutch had little to no resistance. I was in 5th gear at the time, and when conditions were very safe, I attempted to just go from 5th to 6th just to see what kind of situation I was in. Once I was out of gear, I couldn't get it to re-engage any other gear. I pulled off, turned off the car, turned it back on, and I was just fine.

I think the brake fluid just needs to be renewed, and it probably boiled the fluid that was being used by the clutch. Is that a pretty accurate assessment? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
606 Posts
What year is your car and how many miles on it? Curious as I'm picking mine up in Atlanta this weekend and hope to have no issues on the way home.

I'm no expert but your assessment sounds correct.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
2,339 Posts
Hey guys! I need a quick sanity check. I took a longer trip recently had an issue with the clutch on the way back. I noticed that about 4 hours in that my clutch had little to no resistance. I was in 5th gear at the time, and when conditions were very safe, I attempted to just go from 5th to 6th just to see what kind of situation I was in. Once I was out of gear, I couldn't get it to re-engage any other gear. I pulled off, turned off the car, turned it back on, and I was just fine.

I think the brake fluid just needs to be renewed, and it probably boiled the fluid that was being used by the clutch. Is that a pretty accurate assessment? Thanks in advance!

Does not sound like a brake fluid issue. Four hours of driving won't boil the fluid unless you are on the track using your brakes too much. Also if it really was the fluid, turning the car on and off won't fix it.

·
Registered
606 Posts