The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the Elise world:

So, I want to turn up the exhaust volume of my Elise SC just a bit over stock. I figure I may as well free up some ponies as well.

Is it worth doing a complete replacement to include a cat delete?
Who are the suggested MFGs of quality exhaust components?

Leo

·
Registered
2017 Evora 400
753 Posts
There's a woman here in NW AR that has an aftermarket exhaust on her SC, which I think is an '11 or '12 year model. Her late husband put it on. She says it is too loud and she wants to trade it for a stock system. I don't have any more details than that. I could put you in touch.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I started with a stock system, then changed to the stage 2 muffler from Lotus, built by Janspeed. It is a nice smooth expensive sounding muffler but it does drone quite a bit. I later took off the cat and now it sounds like an exotic car. I LOVE it but it is very loud in the car. On my 3 hour drive to Watkins Glen this afternoon, I will be wearing my ear muffs with ear buds in to help take the fatigue off my ears. That being said, I wouldn't have it any other way, it sounds awesome. Mine is NOT supercharged so I didn't really get any performance gain. I got the ECU tuned to move the cam kick down but otherwise it runs the same.

I will be trying dynamat on the firewall and floorboards to help quiet the drone out.

·
Premium Member
4,123 Posts
2bular and as JJ said, it takes a while but worth the wait. As far as pipe goes, its up to you........Mature or loud. There are several good ones out there.

·
German Reimport
2,953 Posts
Larini!
Great sound and no drone

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
I have had many exhausts on two different lotus, elise and s240.

Elise- Stock exhaust and stage 2 which drones badly/welds broke.