The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let's say you own a business, does putting your business logo on the side of your car allow you to deduct your racing expense, i.e. drivers ed, SCCA license upkeep, tyres, maintenance as an advertising medium?
Is anybody doing this? How have you approached it?
cheers,
Bobby

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
You can do whatever you want - it's the IRS that may not like it, but they have to catch you doing it.

You could "sponsor" yourself I guess, but to what extent I'm not sure.

PS - I am a CPA

·
Registered
495 Posts
I'm no expert, but here's what I've been told: It's a stretch to pull it off

IRS doesn't like to see 'hobbies' deducted

You'd have to incorporate your racing venture, and be prepared to show that it's a business, not a hobby. Simply putting a sticker with your business name on it won't cut it if you are audited

If you own an automotive-related business, I think you'd have a better chance convincing the IRS in case of a problem

·
Forum Founder
29,083 Posts
I think the answer is no. You can deduct a reasonable amount for advertising. How much would someone else pay you to advertise on the side of the car?

However, you can deduct your hobby if there is a business promotion relationship and you can pass the IRS "hobby" test. It does not matter if it is fun and something you do on the side, but there has to be a reasonable expectation of profit.

I do indeed deduct my racing and cars.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Hobbies have to have income associated with them.

I was assuming above he already had a business and that he could "sponsor" his car.

·
Forum Founder
29,083 Posts
You are probably right about the legit business. The other question though is if a legit business can deduct ALL of one's racing expenses.