The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Since I'm an engineer, words like, "small" don't mean a lot to me. I brought a tape measure to the Pittsburgh show and measured a few things. I compared the Elise to my Z4. I wanted to compare it to the Miata too, but my tape measure broke! I thought you might find this interesting. As you can see, the largest difference between the Elise and the Z4 is in the door to door width. The seats are very close together. I suspect a Miata's interior is not much larger than the Elise's. Anyone want to measure one?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
Well, I'm not sure what to do with all of the dimensions but I do know the Elise is a lot more spacious than my Seven. I have driven an Elise twice and I fit OK with the top on, so I guess I can use your measurements to confirm what I already knew.
I just love it when the facts support, or when I can interpret the facts to support, my beliefs.
Oh, I think you are likely correct, the Elise interior is not smaller than a number of other sprots cars.

·
Registered
6,301 Posts
JohnnyQuest said:
As you can see, the largest difference between the Elise and the Z4 is in the door to door width.
They designed it that way so you could reach the power window switch on the passenger door:D

·
Registered
2,154 Posts
My 1990 Miata:

Steering Wheel diameter = 14.5 inches
Center steering wheel to left door = 12 inches
to right door = 40 inches
Door to door = 52 inches
Sill width = 0
Sill height above floor = 5 inches
Height left/right foot well = 10.5 inches
Width left foot well = 14 inches
Width right foot well = 15 inches
Seat width = 17 to 19.5 inches
Seat width between bolsters = 11.5 to 12 inches
Seat back = 18 inches at widest portion
Seat back between bolsters = 11.5 inches at widest portion
Floor to top edge seat = 8.5 inches
Bottom steering wheel to floor = 15 inches