The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me say that I am an aggressive driver, I get it from also being a motorcycle rider as well. The safest place in a car or bike is ALONE on the road, so I will use my acceleration to get me into a nice safe open area. But let me also state that I NEVER create traffic. I never create chaos around me. I'm always looking in front of me, making decisions about what to do with me and my car on the road.

That being said, I've been having a problem in traffic and on freeway on ramps as of late, in addition to 2 other instances. Please, let me elaborate.

1 - Driving down my alley on a weekday morning I see what looks to be an old lady up ahead of me, say 50 feet. The road is HORRENDOUS in this alley, so I go SLOW.....slow = what my car feels like idling in 1st gear. I'm not trying to SLOW my car down, I'm just kinda' letting it do it's thing in 1st or 2nd gear. As I approach her it's now obvious she had STOPPED when I first saw her to wait for me so that she could shake her fist at me, and yell something as I passed by.

a) I saw her, good lord I probably saw her before she saw me
b) I was 50 feet away going NO more than 20 mph MAX
c) There was enough room for 3 more of her, and 1 more of me side by side in this alley.

So WTF...why was she screaming at me....I literally could almost go no slower if I tried, and she was in no danger. I'll chalk it up to old age and Chrome Orange.

2 - I'm stuck in traffic behind some lady in a Toyota 4-Runner, 2 lanes, we are both in the right lane. It's then obvious we are both stopped because there is a kick ass VALET stand in this lane, great. So she creeps around the valet, and I'm behind her doing the same. I'm in first gear, and we creep by as any 2 cars in traffic would creep by the same blocked lane.