The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a total newbie question, but does the current (in the last couple years) Elise tend toward understeer? I saw a video clip from Top Gear where they had terrible understeer on a 111 Elise (I think) as the result of narrower tires to keep novice drivers from swapping ends. Is that still the case?

·
Registered
425 Posts
The only experience I have had with plowing is when I try to make a quick turn at low speeds (5-15 MPH) when I am off the throttle. My car will plow straight ahead for about 1-2 feet then turn.

·
insert clever title here
7,702 Posts
I've done quite a few autocrosses (though I'm no expert) and found that the Elise (with standard suspension tires) does understeer quite badly if you enter a corner much too fast and my experience was much like Clarkson's. Once you're in that state, giving it more gas doesn't help balance things out at all, it just keeps plowing until you slow down. However, if you enter a corner at a more reasonable rate, it has very mild understeer and the tail can be easily controlled by the throttle (and your lap times will be MUCH better)...it's very easy to give it a slight increase in throttle to transition to oversteer, then ease off the throttle and the tail comes back inline and a more neutral to understeer balance is achieved, you can repeat this time and time again if the corner is long enough. I compare it to ballroom dancing, you're leading and the car is following, swaying its tail based on your inputs.

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
The unmodified base suspension tends to plow.

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
Pull the shims and get larger front tires and you're good.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
...and the tail can be easily controlled by the throttle (and your lap times will be MUCH better)...