The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI All,
Wanted to get some input on driving shoes. I wore pyrotects high top driving shoes with my Seven. How does the sole on a real driving shoe(simpson, momo, sparco) compare with the sole on street driving shoes such as puma, piloti?

Thicker, thinner, other differences?

Not sure what to get right now, the high top shoes do tend to loook a bit boy racerish but I found them quite comfortable and I've no experience with the street driving shoes.

CHris

·
Forum Founder
29,083 Posts
My Pilotis are thicker than racing-only shoes. I like using old indoor soccer shoes for racing. Many people swear by wrestling shoes. Of course no nomex in those...so if you wrap it up in a fireball.... stick your feet out.

P.S. I wore those Pilotis everyday at the LA Auto Show. My feet felt fine.

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
The soles on my Simpson race shoes are a little thinner than Simpson's crew shoe. I've noticed that the material (compound?) on the race shoe is much softer, however, so I actually have excellent pedal feel. Unfortunately it also means that you'll feel some pebbles and sharp rocks under your feet too! I use these shoes almost exclusively for open-track events and autocrosses and wouldn't consider using them for "daily wear", though I know some people who do.

Bob K.

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
i wear Puma H-Street shoes for most track days and cruising and also have a pair of Simpsons and Pilotis. The Pilotis are very thick and bulky but are by far the best to walk around in. The Pumas are actually thinner than the Simpsons and are my favorite of the bunch.

-Steve

·
Registered
3,664 Posts
zvezdah1 said:
HI Mike,
I tried to order from them last night but the size/color I needed was out of stock. :(
Chris
I just realized that my size is out of stock too :(

Oh well, I guess I'll be paying $100 for a pair instead :rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
_JD_ said: