The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forrum and have gone through the threads. Its time for tires and i was lookind at the new Dunlop Dirrezza Sport Z1 stars. the only close sizes i see are 205/50 and 235/45 which are both a half inch taller. seems like it might be a good compound for the street and occaissional track. any thoughts or experience with these?

mark V

·
Registered
7 Posts
I could be wrong, but i thought the Dirrezza's were more of a drifting tire?

Any reason as to why you're not sticking with the A048r's?

·
Registered
6,981 Posts
Uh... because A048 tires suck? I know I'll never buy them again.

xtn

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
Direzzas have gotten rave reveiws and good results in SCCA street tire class. The star specs are supposed to get up to temp faster. I'd run them but they don't have correct sizes for LSS wheels.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Get some bridgestone RE-101's much better then the Dunlops

·
Registered
894 Posts
I just buy a set of Direzza tire for my street wheel, but not installed yet. Cheap, and medium wear.

But with a treadwear of 300, I presume that they will not be very good on race track. It is probably a good tire for drifting, they don't want too much traction.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I had them before switching to the Bridge Stones. Here would be my review on the tires.

At autox they are very greasy when hot. If you duel drive the car on a fast track good luck your tires will feather and be gone after a 3 day weekend.

In the rain they are semi decent tires and offer good grip.

Over all tread-wear is decent for street duty even after being killed from a 3 day duel driven weekend.

In snow they will track well but still scare the crap out of you whenever you hit the brakes.

Once they get heat cycled so many times don't expect them to stop you very fast at an autox event. I did a heavy braking day not too long ago and the tires failed to stop many times.