The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the Lotus world, and looking for advice to go faster!
I already know I need to learn H&T and also get new tires (those have expired)

·
Registered
526 Posts
Get some fresh tires and you should see your lap times drop substantially. You're about 5-10mph slow at most apexes vs. what you should be to hit with a set of Bridgestone RE71Rs. Also, if you're OK with revving out your engine, don't shift up to 5th on the straight. You can pull about 117mph in 4th before the rev limiter with 24.7" OD tires. I think I hit 114mph at Laguna in 4th gear with a bone stock powertrain.

Regarding the ST-5... perhaps it's time to open it up and replace the packing material? I've gone to Laguna a handful of times with my ST-5 muffler and don't get flagged. Do you have an aftermarket catalytic converter or a cat delete?

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the feedback . Agreed on 4th gear on the straight. Tires were since replaced by a new Yokos slicks, just need the tracks to re-open!
For the ST5 I had just replaced the packing material and still got flagged at 92.1 (90 db limit). I do have a high flow cat + PPE header which may be the culprit.
I got a small U bend that should help, let's see.

·
Registered
2,165 Posts
Good to hear that ST-5 typically don't get flagged at Laguna. I've been meaning to spice it up a little bit since I've been on the factory Stage 3 exhaust forever.
I never bothered with the exhaust since I didn't want to futz around replacing to quieter exhaust or adding a laguna pipes whenever I do 90db days...

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@jdawson
Went back to Laguna yesterday with fresh tires, laptime dropped by 3.5 sec!