The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
In preparation for an engine rebuild, I removed my ’05 Elise engine last Sunday. Removal was surprisingly easy, no major problems. It is time consuming – around 8 hours in total. I moved very slow, labeling and documenting everything. This is not intended to be a complete detailed guide, rather a general overview. Also, I am not an expert – this is my first engine removal.

*First, a couple safety precautions - sufficiently block the front wheels, set the parking brake and disconnect the battery. We don’t want any fires when the fuel line is disconnected.

*Remove the rear clam. Mine is hinged and has quick releases – it’s off in < 2 min.

*Drain the engine oil.

*I’m not re-using the stock header – I cut the breather tube with a hack saw to make header removal easy.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
*Begin labeling coolant lines. I’m not an expert – accordingly I labeled EVERYTHING and took over 50 pictures of the process. I used plastic sandwich bags to store components, bolts, etc. All bolts were labeled for ease of identification.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
*Label all harness connections – a Sharpie works well.

*Begin disconnecting vacuum and coolant lines. Some don’t need to be disconnected – I left the throttle body on the engine which allows some lines to stay connected. Disconnect the rubber boot from the throttle body.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
*Disconnect the harness. There are several connections on the left side and top (fuel, spark) of the engine. One of the connections is on the backside of the engine and not readily accessible until the engine is lifted from the car. I think this is the knock sensor.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
*Remove the drive belt.