The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2009 elise SC
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am new to lotustalk. I have my lotus (2009 sc) since 2009 and never had a major problem or failures. Yesterday i was going to work but the car woudnt move. The engine started normal. I shifted my manual gear with a bit of difficulty. When i removed my foot from the clutch the car didnt move an inch. I tried all gears but it didn’t budge, as if there is no connection between engine and transmission. (Hand break down and cable working fine). Any idea of the problem.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
So the shifter action feels normal, with the normal gates apparent between gears, or does the shifter feel floppy? If it feels floppy, you probably have a broken “blue ball” in the shifter. If the shifter feels normal, what does the clutch pedal feel like?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
118 Posts
Check that circlips did not come off the shift cables in the engine bay. Though when that happened to me, I did not feel any resistance moving the shift lever.

·
Registered
2009 elise SC
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Austin,
Hi, i am new to lotustalk. I have my lotus (2009 sc) since 2009 and never had a major problem or failures. Yesterday i was going to work but the car woudnt move. The engine started normal. I shifted my manual gear with a bit of difficulty. When i removed my foot from the clutch the car didnt move an inch. I tried all gears but it didn’t budge, as if there is no connection between engine and transmission. (Hand break down and cable working fine). Any idea of the problem.
So the shifter action feels normal, with the normal gates apparent between gears, or does the shifter feel floppy? If it feels floppy, you probably have a broken “blue ball” in the shifter. If the shifter feels normal, what does the clutch pedal feel like?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk