The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I took my Evora GT to the track for the first time on Monday. What a car. I get it now.

Here are some of my thoughts. I’ve been tracking a BMW F82 M4 Competition for a few years prior, and I’m an intermediate/casual HPDE driver.
Wheel Car Tire Land vehicle Vehicle

Amazing amounts of lateral grip. I was very careful with the car at the beginning of the day as I didn’t know what to expect, and I think I worked up to about 7/10 by day’s end. The combination of Sport Cup 2 tires, suspension, and mild aero were incredible, and I was cornering harder than I ever could on the M4, yet the tires had still more grip to deliver. I need more days on the track to really find this car’s limits.

With some experimentation throughout the day, I found the Cup 2s really wanted to be at around 32–35 PSI (2.2–2.4 Bar) for best grip. This yielded an even temperature spread of around 115° F (46° C) across the tire surface (it was a cool day, around 65° F or 18° C—hotter days will surely yield higher tire temps). The tires precipitously lost traction at pressures higher than 35 PSI.

Cold tires have no grip. This one may be obvious, but we started the day at around 45° F (7.2° C) and the tires had almost no grip. ABS kicked in at 30% brake application. Good thing I took it easy! Things got much better as the day warmed up.

The suspension is incredible. I don’t know how the folks at Hethel did it, but this car’s suspension was superb. Quick turn-ins yielded progressive and firm loading on the outside. Curb bumps and driver-generated upsets were handled easily. The car followed crests and dips without losing grip or bottoming out. And best of all, it was comfortable enough to drive home at the end of the day without adjustment. It’s pure magic.