The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all...I am new to exiges and bought my first car 3 months ago, it's a 2008 exige 220. Like most people I hardly use it and I have only done 500miles in it. Gone to get it out of garage today and it won't start....there is just a repeating clicking noise when you push the start button...the battery is fine as everything electric still works
Someone said its likely to be the starter motor stuck and just to rock the car in gear...done that and it hasn't worked.
I am not at all Mechanically minded and struggling to even locate the starter motor to give it a knock (which someone else suggested)

Can anyone suggest anything thank you

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Even if you think the battery is hot, try giving it a jump-start. If that starts it, then you don't have a problem with your starter.

·
Registered
6,930 Posts
Hello all...I am new to exiges and bought my first car 3 months ago, it's a 2008 exige 220. Like most people I hardly use it and I have only done 500miles in it. Gone to get it out of garage today and it won't start....there is just a repeating clicking noise when you push the start button...the battery is fine as everything electric still works
Someone said its likely to be the starter motor stuck and just to rock the car in gear...done that and it hasn't worked.
I am not at all Mechanically minded and struggling to even locate the starter motor to give it a knock (which someone else suggested)

Can anyone suggest anything thank you
Unfortunately, the battery is not "fine". It needs to be charged or replaced and kept on a "Maintainer" see this:Battery Information
Michael

·
Registered
488 Posts
I agree with Sirlotus. Either jump the battery or charge to battery on a maintainer if the battery level is high enough to take a charge. If the battery is too low to take a charge then you'll need to get a new battery.

·
Premium Member
1,042 Posts